About Us

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki 

The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki is widely recognized as a vibrant center of learning and research which draws its inspiration from a long tradition of academic achievement. Nevertheless, mindful of rapid change and progress, AUTh aims to improve its strategy, policies and everyday practices, in order to meet contemporary local and global demands. To this direction, AUTh participates in International Organizations, Unions and University Networks, coordinating and implementing Bilateral Agreements with Universities all over the world, as well as the European Policy through the Erasmus+ program and various other European Educational Programs (Erasmus Mundus, Erasmus+ International, etc.). Auth participates aslo in the Alliance for the European University (EPICUR). Having a major contribution to Education, Research, and Culture in local, national, and international level, AUTh is at the same time the first “green university” in Greece today, serving as a role model for institutions and the society as a whole.
AUTh was founded in 1925 and is the largest comprehensive university in Greece. The main campus is in the center of the city of Thessaloniki and covers an area of about 33,4 hectares. It comprises 10 Faculties which consist of 40 Schools and 1 Single-school Faculty. Some educational and administrative facilities are located off-campus, outside the city of Thessaloniki or even in other cities for practical and operational reasons. About 88,283 students study at AUTh, 77,198 in undergraduate programs and 6,588 in postgraduate programs. There are also 3,952 at Doctoral level). There are 1,682 faculty members. There are also 311 members of the SLTP (Special Laboratory Teaching Personnel). Faculty members are also assisted by 144 members of the STLP (Special Technical Laboratory Personnel). The Administration Office consists of 278 permanent employees and 256 employees under a private law contract of indefinite duration. Most of its academic personnel have been trained in reputable Universities in Europe, the United States, and as far afield as Australia and Japan.



School of Journalism and Mass Communications

The School of Journalism and Mass Communications has in recent years repeatedly featured among the top 50 Media/Communications Schools of Europe and is a member of the European Journalism Teaching Association (EJTA).

Since its establishment in 1991, SJMC offers full-time, four-year long BA degree programs both in Journalism and in Mass Communications. The long-term aim of the School operations is to provide students with theoretical and practical training in journalism, promote research in journalism and mass communications, as well as uphold the rights and responsibilities of Greek journalists. Its English-taught MA program builds on its 15-year long experience in training international students in its tailor-made English-taught program for Erasmus students. Above all, it is based on the School’s 25-year long success in promoting learning through theory-building, cutting edge technical skills and professional training, and reflects its steadfast commitment to innovation, excellence, interdisciplinary education and international outlook.

Last, but not least, the Department was awarded twice the Jean Monnet Chair on European Public Diplomacy (2020) and European Integration Journalism (2016) for providing a coherent postgraduate teaching program in European Journalism.

In Spring 2023, the School moved from 46 Egnatia Street to a new building in the center of the city, at 12 Vasileos Hrakleiou Street. The school’s current student population includes almost 700 undergraduates, 64 postgraduates and 57 Phd candidates. In addition, every year the School receives an average of 15 Erasmus students while, at the same time, it trains scores of mid-career professionals through a wide range of specially designed Lifelong Learning Programs.


Program Governing Committee

Program Director and Pathway Coordinators
Nikos Panagiotou, Associate Professor of International Journalism, MA Director, Coordinator of the Risk Communication Pathway
Charalampos Dimoulas, Associate Professor of Electronic Media, Coordinator of Digital Media Pathway
Vasilis Vamvakas, Associate Professor of Sociology of Communication, Coordinator of European Journalism Pathway

Board Members
Gregory Paschalidis, Professor of Cultural Studies
Christos Frangonikolopoulos, Professor of International Relations, Jean Monnet Chair (2016-19, 2020-23)